Day in the Life: Ms. Ghee

About Ms. Ghee…
Ms. Ghee has been MAS’ 8th grade Science Teacher for 3 years. A mantra that is getting Ms. Ghee through this demanding time is “ I can and I will because others are depending on me”. In fact, Ms. Ghee has many depending on her as she juggles virtual learning with four wonderful children ages 4-15. She graduated from Mount Mary University in 2010. Ms. Ghee’s favorite thing about teaching is making lifelong, genuine connections with students and showing students that science is interesting, relevant, and fun. Ms. Ghee’s favorite science fact is that there is enough DNA in the average person’s body to stretch from the sun to Pluto and back-17 times.

Day in the Life…
This is on a good day. Some days don’t go as planned and some days I am just too tired to function. However I keep pushing and try to put my kids and my students first.

4:30 am: I wake up and say a prayer of gratitude. Getting out of the bed is extremely difficult, so I have to really push myself. I find some work out clothes.

4:45-5:30 am: I eat a quick snack for energy (boiled egg, peanut butter sandwich, and an apple) and I drink some lemon water, while I am eating I listen to a church sermon via youtube. 

I do a 25-30 minute workout to rap or gospel music depending on my mood. I go in the backyard and jump rope for 5 minutes first.

5:30-6:30 am:  I need this alone time.  I shower, get dressed and do my hair and makeup. I like to listen to something motivational while I get ready: Eric Thomas, Earl Nightingale, Gary Vaynerchuk, or Les Brown

6:30-7:30 am: I plan out dinner and do some light cleaning. Then, I wake up three of my four children. First, I wake up my 14 year old daughter, Kayla,  so she can get ready for school and pack her lunch. An alarm does not work so I have to yell at least 3 times. Second, I wake up my 8 year old daughter Ava. She attends MAS. She is pretty self sufficient. I trained her to get herself ready from a young age. I do comb her hair and oversee her process. Closer to 7am, I wake up my 4 year old son Andrew, 4 years. I give him a bath and get him dressed. I save him for last because he is difficult in the morning. I have to physically brush his teeth for him and get him dressed. Like usual, we can never find his shoes. 

7:30-8:00 am: My 15 year old, my oldest daughter Karis is a sophomore at MAS. She wakes up and cooks breakfast, pretty often. I eat whatever she cooks. I never have time to sit and eat so I walk and eat as I get my youngest children to daycare and drop Kayla off to school. I stop at McDonald’s to get a coffee. 

8:00-8:20 am: I call my mom or friends just to say good morning and have a quick chat as I drive to MAS. 

8:20- 9:30 am: When I arrive at MAS. I get water and a snack(I eat a lot). I log on and go over my lesson plans, read emails, and try to catch up on work

9:30-10:00 am: The Junior Academy has a zoom staff meeting. I enjoy seeing my coworkers in the morning on Zoom. They are great people to work with.

10:00- 11:45 am: I log on to zoom and teach. Before I log on I say a quick prayer and ask that I can reach my students, connect with them and that they receive the information 

11:45-1:30 pm: This is my prep time/lunch. I pop onto social media for a few minutes, check my texts, read emails and try to plan for the following day.

1:30-3:30 pm: I teach  30 RTI  minute classes. 

3:30-4 pm: I try to stay behind and chat with students and get as much work done as possible before I go home. 

4:00-4:30 pm: I reflect on my day while driving to go pick up Kayla from school. 

4:30- 6:00 pm: My daughter, Kayla and I go to Starbucks or Panera so that to can send some emails and reach out to parents and she has an environment to get homework done. My two little ones are escorted home from daycare by my oldest daughter Karis. 

6:00-7:30 pm: When we arrive home Kayla studies more in her room. I talk to the other three about their days. I clean up a little and cook. Kayla likes to bake so she whipped up some brownies. I am all in! I get a bit tired while cooking and my two oldest over cooking duties while I shower. 

7:30-8:00 pm: We all eat dinner and I talk to my kids. 

8:00-8:30 pm: I grade papers while supervising chores. 

8:30-9:00 pm: We watch tv, while I talk on the phone, and do laundry, prep my hair. 

9:00-9:30 pm: My youngest two and I watch animal documentaries before they go to sleep. Ava and I like to watch Rupal’s Drag Race.

9:30-10:30 pm: I study Biology on an app, pray and then fall asleep.